A Day At The Races And The Colour Purple

What better way to spend a beautiful sunny Saturday then at the races drinking champagne and winning money (ha, winning! Yes we will just call it that).  I am not the type of girl who matches my nails to my outfit, usually I prefer a bold colour that compliments without being to matchy matchy.  This time I jumped out of my comfort zone and went for the opposite, a polish that was the same as my dress colour!

Purple was the choice of the day, purple dress, purple nails.  And a little bit of white, come on, I have to mess it up a little.

The purple polish in question is the one and only OPI A Grape Fit, a very pretty medium matte shade. The white polish is from The Face Shop and smells a lot like Liquid Paper, oh well it does the job. I decided to paint one finger on each hand white and use the purple polish to add some dots over the top.

The first step, and this is the hardest part, you need to decide what fingers to paint white and which to paint purple. Now once this is all sorted and decided you can start painting. For this look I did two coats with the purple and two coats for the white. Another hard part is waiting for your nails to dry, I am so impatient sometimes but it is really important!

Once all your nails are dry you can get set on the creative part of making the cute dots. All you need is a bobby pin, dip the round point into the purple polish and carefully dab the dots over the white polish. You can make the dots as random as you like or more neat, it’s totally up to how you feel. When all the dots are perfectly dry apply a top coat over all you nails.

This is such an easy and funky way to mess up a simple mani and make your nails stand out. Seriously, I have already had like four compliments on these babies. Hows that!?!

RRP: $19.00 OPI A Grape Fit available from David Jones and $3.00 (what a bargain) from The Face Shop.

 

 

Leave a comment