Yellow makes everything brighter…

My Mum tells a story about me when I was in kindy that goes a little something like this..

When I used to do paintings and drawing at school I used A LOT of yellow! It was my favorite color and I could not get enough of the stuff. When my Mum asked me one day why my drawings had so much yellow in them, apparently I came up with a pretty smart answer…Because when you have yellow in a drawing it makes everything brighter. Well done me! This is something that I still believe is true. Over the last few days I have been so sick with the most terrible flu, I had no voice and was coughing so much my ribs started aching. I was pretty down in the dumps and thought it would never go away, with nothing much else to do then feel sorry for myself I decided to paint my nails…YELLOW!

I tell you what, it really lifted my spirits not to mention the great conversation stater with complete strangers…”Soooooo, yellow nails? That’s pretty cool”, that was spoken by my Doctor. Other then lift your spirits, bright bold nails are perfect for this time of year, they go with the summer season and I love it.

The first yellow I grabbed was from Australis and called Acid Rain (I just love that name too bits).  The colour is so eye catching and bright, whenever I catch a glimpse of my nails I smile, which means it must be doing something right.

I applied 2 coats and because it is so high shine I didn’t need to apply a top coat. The application was so easy and just glides over your nails without creating any streaks. I wore this colour for about 2 days without any signs of chipping. Delish!

After day 2 I wanted to try something new but still keep within my yellow theme and lift my spirits. I went for another yellow Australis but this time a crackle version called Tweet Me (another awesome name). For the base colour underneath the crackle polish I used one coat of OPI That’s Hot. With the shatter polishes you need to make sure the colour you use underneath is completely dry before you apply the shatter colour or it wont work as well. You also only need to apply a thin coat of shatter polish for it to work and I find that it looks best without a top coat.

My shatter polish lasted about 4 days before it needed to be taken off. Shatter is great for adding a bit of fun into your outfit, Sunday arvo drinks with the girls or just hanging at the shops.

Check out the Australis website HERE for other cool polishes and products.

RRP: Brights from Australis are $7.95 for 10ml and Shatter polishes are $8.95 for 10ml. Both are available from Priceline, Big W and Kmart.

* These products were sent to The Makeup Case for editorial consideration – Please see our disclosure policy.

Leave a comment