John Freida Foam Hair Colour

So, I finally got around to using these. Just after Christmas when my sister came to town. We both needed a hair cut and thought it would be a good time to colour our hair aswell. I just got a trim, it was about 20cms off, is that still a trim? Sara, got a fringe cut and some layers. Off home again, after a pedicure, to colour.

Who got which colour? We couldn’t decide. So we did half half on each other. She got red at the top and brown underneath and I did brown on top and red underneath. You can see the colours in the picture above. We both have similar coloured hair its kinda medium brown and pretty boring and even though we got it cut, it still comes to nearly half way down our back.

This is what you get in the box, and a pair of black gloves to protect your hands from staining. Its pretty easy, you empty bottle 2 into bottle 1 and shake it like a polaroid picture. Then put the pump top thingy into to bottle 1 and you’re good to go. So here is the tricky bit, you squeeze the bottle you don’t pump it. It took me ages to get used to the idea. But got it in the end. It comes out like foam so it doesn’t drip everywhere.

OK, you’re not supposed to put the foam directly onto your hair (we read the instructions after we were half way through, oops) but it still worked just fine. Best of all, it didn’t drip everywhere and ruin more of my mums towels. It was very easy to apply and there was
HEAPS of product to cover our hair. We even had some left over, but couldn’t persuade anyone in the house they needed their hair coloured. You leave it 30 minutes, I think, then wash it out and use the conditioner, bottle 3, provided.

The result? Ummm……it was ok. Easy to use but the colour was not really vibrant. Especially the red, it was not very visible at all. I am happy with the brown, it gave my hair a nice all over even colour that it has not had for ages. The first photo below was taken in daylight, inside the house. The second was taken in sunlight outside. I will say this, it was the quickest and easiest to wash out. The packet says rinse till the water runs clear, like all home hair colours. It only took around 10 mins and no colour on my mums towel when drying. WIN!

The hair colour range is available from  Target, Coles, Woolworths, Priceline and some pharmacies and is around $22, depending where you go.

*these products were sent to The Makeup Case for editorial consideration, please see our disclosure policy here

One thought on “John Freida Foam Hair Colour

  1. I love this product, my mum has her hair colour quite often and loves me using your Colour foam product on her hair. She loves to be blonde and we have found that your blondes are the best for her hair.

Leave a comment